?

Log in

No account? Create an account
underground publication reviews' Journal
 
[Most Recent Entries] [Calendar View] [Friends]

Below are 20 journal entries, after skipping by the 20 most recent ones recorded in underground publication reviews' LiveJournal:

[ << Previous 20 -- Next 20 >> ]
Saturday, February 10th, 2007
11:44 am
[munitionsship]
LOOKING FOR UK OR EUROPEAN DISTROS

I’m looking for someone to distro the books and zines my micropress puts out. We currently ship everything from here in Canada, but it would be much easier to have someone else take over the international orders. Titles include:

Lockpick Pornography – http://www.lockpickbook.net - “It’s impossible to talk about a book like Joey Comeau’s Lockpick Pornography without first considering the way things like terror, gender, family values, and even the publishing industry are currently constructed, because every page in this grenade of a novel is written to blow them to bits. Everything is fair game to be smashed and reconstituted, from the boundaries of gender to the proper way to handle a closed door. This tiny, self-published spitfire also manages in turn to be funny, awkward and tender, all strung together with explicit, cover-your-kid’s-eyes sex and violence.”
- Junk Magazine

A Softer World – http://www.asofterworld.com – “While it has been called many things—from touching, poignant and depressing to uplifting and raucous—one thing is for sure: the photo-comic strip A Softer World is definitely provocative.”
- Publishers’ Weekly


Email msl @ looseteeth.ca for more info.


Thanks!
Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
7:37 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Nobody can eat 50 eggs #25
Zine Review - Nobody can eat 50 eggs #25


This huge issue is by far one of my favorites, and has a lot of Steve Steiner artwork in it, but the real hilarity is in the writing. “How to be a Mad Scientist” is very, VERY funny, with such sub notes as, “Physical Traits of a Mad Scientist, Perfecting the Evil Laugh, Setting up a Laboratory, Assistants & Henchmen, Obtaining test subjects, Experimentation / Evil Schemes and Fighting the Government” and ends with the cool quiz, “What kind of criminal are you?” Very funny, can be had by contacting him directly:

http://www.myspace.com/eat50eggs

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

Sunday, February 4th, 2007
9:34 pm
[sourgrapeszine]
SOURGRAPES: Calling all D.I.Y. kids!
Hi there,
My name is Sam. I help run a zine called SOURGRAPES ZINE. We're a local zine based in Lexington KY. We focus on teaching kids about D.I.Y. ethics, being posi, and why its important to support local art and music.
I wanted to write not only to introduce our zine to the livejournal zine world! But also to explain our predicament. You see, after a lot of pulling out hair and craziness we've decided to hire on a full-time zine team. We used to be submission based but it was pretty hard on our (then) small team.
So now we're looking for like minded zinesters and punks who support self publication, D.I.Y. ethics, posi beliefs, and who are interested in having some fun creating a great zine and keeping the underground press alive!


We're looking for:

- Columnists
- Interviewers
- Record reviewer **
- Zine reviewers **
- D.I.Y. guide writers **
- Survival guide writers **
- Bike Repair guide writers **
- Cover artists (for upcoming covers)
- Photographers
- Cartoonists (full-time strip)
- Proof readers **
- Printers
- + more!

If you think you could help us out or would like to become apart of our team, we'd love to have you! Write us at SOURGRAPESZINE@GMAIL.COM or through our myspace: http://myspace.com/sourgrapeszine
Once again we are looking for FULL TIME writers/artists (which means we will be interested in your submissions for each issue) were poor and cant pay you but we can offer free ad space, zine copies, zine reviews, and whatever Sam can knit you!

Thanks!
SAM
SG ZINE TEAM

SUBMIT +SUPPORT= SURVIVE

Friday, February 2nd, 2007
5:55 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Rose Gardens of Life No. 3
Zine Review - Rose Gardens of Life No. 3


Rose keeps the Long format, and continues to write long sweeping epic poetry. It’s almost all bittersweet, but clever, with her clever notes that hang in the air like the sound crystal makes when tapped. It’s enjoyable to me to read, smooth and easy like a good table wine. A buck and a half and very enjoyable

Snippet:

“If I could relive a time of sorrow or joy,

If I could choose to know all of my life’s sorrows gone.

What Joy could I then recall without the loss, what could I call gain.”

Linkie Linkie for more info

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

Thursday, February 1st, 2007
5:43 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Rose Gardens of Life No. 2
Zine Review - Rose Gardens of Life No. 2


Rose has changed her format to the long fold one, which really seems to fit her way of writing – very quick and easy to read. This isn’t really a poetry zine like before, but instead one long and interesting story about bigotry and making value judgments. Rose’s mentality is clear here, about demonstrating tolerance and love to her fellow human being. A buck and a half and this zine just keeps getting better and better.

Snippet:

“When people are reduce to ‘those and you,’ it hurts the soul of the world. Whoever sees their world this way must surely have a dark empty hole in their own souls”

LinkieLinkie for more info

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
1:52 pm
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Rose Gardens of Life No 1
Zine Review - Rose Gardens of Life No 1


Rose Young’s initial foray into the zine world brings us a lightly collaged poetry zine, very simple and very evocative. Her poetry is direct, and it’s intention is to cause the reader to think and feel. From works based upon battles to finding herself, this little quarter/rough zine is a bit like life itself – a bit of this and a bit of that. A buck and a half and a very good little poetry zine.

Snippet:

“Finding myself, with every single breath

Finding my way, in a tide of rage.

The way I was raised.

Breaking and Shaking, my crystal cage.

Watching the pieces shatter,

To the ground.

Each piece a glittering treasure

But so very dangerous, too.”



LinkieLinkie
for more info...


_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
7:23 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Poems from July No 26
Zine Review - Poems from July No 26



Jessy Kendall’s poetry zine is a very surreal experience. It’s the kind of thing that you want to read before you go to sleep, because you know you’ll get some killer dreams about it. When we open it, the first poem we see the text is distorted, and looks very cool. While not limited to poetry by any means, this zine is very stream-of-consciousness and has heavy mail art type collage in it. It’s free for the asking, and you can contact Jessy at shirkATriseupDOTnet Very cool.

Snippet:

“I’m drunk walking with vinnie george

And our drums to the gypsy camp trying to fill

The glass piece just given to me.

I look down this corridor of black

With points of soft light”

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt / email me, dammit

Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
8:07 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Jelly Cake Vol 1 No 4
Zine Review - Jelly Cake Vol 1 No 4



Ben’s back and as funny as ever, with the, “Refreshingly Retro Pineapple Tart Issue”. While I’m not sure what Ben’s been dropping these days, his writing is every bit as funny and clear as the first three issues. From Maritza’s extended television viewing schedule, to Dance Dance revolution contests, Ben dances the gaumut of topics with his dry wit. I favored Hennepin’s article about Johanna Edina. Good work as usual, Ben and only a dollar and a half

Snippet:

“Walking so early in the morning reminds me of school. Having to ride the cheese bus. It’s the crispness in the air. Ooh, step on the leaf again…I adore that sound”

LinkieLinkie

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works
www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt / email me, dammit

Saturday, January 6th, 2007
4:37 pm
[nwzw]
ChapBook - Mental foreplay for the classics, a brief memoir of Veronica
ChapBook - Mental foreplay for the classics, a brief memoir of Veronica


Brandon Follett’s collection of poetry has a nice color cover and has a nice heavy cardstock heft to it. Brandon’s poetry is emotive and rich, it’s like drinking a good Chianti. His topics are varied, and run the gaumet from lap dances to poetry readings. Brandon’s poetry is solid and the zine is well put together. If you're into poetry, this is a very good selection of work.

Snippet:

“Our relationship was a drinking binge

In a windowless basement.

Sometime when I awoke

I’d open the door

And it would be pitch black

Except for the glow of the full moon,

Other days I’d wake blinded by sun.”

Half sized, Five dollars

Order it right here

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum

Friday, January 5th, 2007
8:07 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Volcano

Zine Review - Volcano

 


 

William Davidson returns, this time with an odd comic panel sequence, beginning with a female nude whose image is altered from panel to panel. It’s an interesting transformative set of panels, while certain images might be disturbing, if you look at this artwork as a whole unit, it’s very interesting and evocative. Quarter sized, twelve pages for a buck and a half.

LinkieLinkie

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2
Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum

Thursday, January 4th, 2007
8:06 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Yee Ha!
Zine Review - Yee Ha!


William Davidson’s Yee Ha! Is a quirky little artzine. The drawings are crude and have overtures toward cubism, but appear to be done with charcoal or crayon. Completely image based, this issue appears to focus on various states of laughter. It’s an interesting piece of work, and is much like walking into a museum; you have to view the whole show to make up your mind what you like. Quarter sized, twelve pages for a buck and a half.

Check it out

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum

Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
6:18 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Heart Beating for 168 Seconds
Zine Review - Heart Beating for 168 Seconds


Brought to us by Ivana Stab and Jasmina Berber, Heart Beating for 168 Seconds is a heavily collaged multi-layered quarter sized zine. With text and images working well with each other, this work really shows us how simple and good a zine like this can be. Their writing is thought provoking, and allows us an unflinching look into the mind of a young Aussie Zinesters. I like this work, it’s a one-shot though, I really think it would make a great series. It shows what people can do when they take their time with the glue stick & paper.


Snippet:

“Nothing seems real


People, songs, stars in the sky


We dissolve into the night


Becoming a salty memory for each of us to smile at


For each of them to scorn at


And for the morning to erase”

Two bucks and worth every dime.

LinkieLinkie...

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2
Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum

Saturday, December 30th, 2006
10:41 pm
[chloehodson]
check out my zine
“electricityCollapse )
Friday, December 29th, 2006
7:53 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Reality Ranch #1
Zine Review - Reality Ranch #1



Scott Erickson’s entertaining litzine, Reality Ranch leads with a funky article about biking in Portland, and moves on to a humorous account of the creation of the saxophone. Reality Ranch deals mostly with absurd parody, and carries such article titles as, “Potatoes into Poetry”, the one-minute version of Star Wars, Hard of Herring. Scott’s writing style is easy to digest and flows well. The zine is laid out well, and it’s a pretty quick little read. I’m currently out of stock, but you can contact Scott Directly for copies:

Scott Erickson: dancingscott @ hotmail . com

Snippet:

“I’ve been biking long enough to have devolped something like a seventh sense about impending trouble (My sixth sense is the one that causes me to get crushes on lesbians.)”

Three dollars.

LinkieLinkie

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed

Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com

www.carolineatigeress.com

www.indymediareviews.com/

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum

Thursday, December 28th, 2006
7:35 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - The Quick and the Dead - August 2006
Zine Review - The Quick and the Dead - August 2006


The Quick and the Dead, August 2006

Hannah Ridge’s per/litzine, The Quick and the Dead is a fun little read. It’s quarter-sized and begins by thanking the reader for being there. I always like to see this in a zine, because our community is so small, we need to give respect to those that support it. Her handwriting is clear and easy to read, and then transfers to text. Hannah’s writing is clear, and emotional, she talks a lot about being unnecessarily shielded, and about true and genuine anger. I liked her segment about haircutting and how it can be very cathartic, and the segments after that deal with more emotions. Hannah’s a really enjoyable writer, and her work, while mostly in the first person, is refreshing on the eyes. This is a British Zine, a very good one at that.

Snippet:

“Eventually the pretending would become so complete that it was as if you were not sat there, ostentatiously striking matches and flipping pages, as if every third beat would not be followed with a foot tap, carefully timed to annoy us as it filled that space.”

Only two dollars, and a very cool read.

LinkieLinkie...

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed

Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com

www.carolineatigeress.com

www.indymediareviews.com/

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum


Thursday, December 14th, 2006
8:02 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 5
 Zine Review - Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 5

HHDS 5 begins with an interesting discussion about Cell Phones in the HipHop community, then follows with an Article entitled, ‘the wonders of possibility’ which discusses writer’s block. I suffer from writer’s block from time to time, so found the article very interesting. I like Tyler’s article about goals, it’s very introspective, just like much of his writing. Good stuff, as usual.

Snippet:

“Lucky for you dear reader, I’m not such a jerk that I don’t TRY to remember who the people I meet are. It’s just that I’m not that good at remembering names, but now that I’ve actually identified this behavioral problem within myself it is something I’m working on. A new year’s resolution of sorts; something to write home about to make my mother proud. Dear mom, I’m meeting tons of new people, and I even remember some of their names! She would be happy for me, I’m sure”

One Dollar

Click Here for More Information
_______________________________________
Now Available:

Soixante Neuf #1, Soixante Neuf #2
Diamond in the Rough #6
Get Reviewed / Get Distroed
Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works
www.northwestzineworks.com
www.carolineatigeress.com

Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
6:51 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 4
Zine Review - Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 4



Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 4

HHDS 4 begins with a critical look at postmodernism, and how Tyler reconciles it in his personal life. I like that kind of introspection in a person, and Tyler follows it up with a few paragraphs about writing on the backs of envelopes. Articles about Flags of the World and design concepts, a humorous bit about a falling skeleton, and some bits of collage conclude the work.

Snippet:

“This has seriously created many problems for me. I’m stuck analyzing all sorts of media I used to like and asking if they have substance. What do I do when I find bands that I like that are all style? Do I stop listening to them or do I fully embrace them and life a full and happy life as a pomo sort of guy? Is it ok just to ignore it and hope for the best?

One Dollar

Click Here for More Information

_______________________________________

Now Available:

Soixante Neuf #1, Soixante Neuf #2

Diamond in the Rough #6

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed

Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com

www.carolineatigeress.com

Monday, December 11th, 2006
7:36 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 3
Zine Review - Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 3

Hiphop Don’t Stop Number 3


Hiphop don’t Stop is a smorgasbord of interesting ideas and concepts, with short interesting bits. I like how Tyler leads with a byte about sonic collages, and Kevin Eder’s article about Summer is pretty cool. Tyler’s bits about work, and sensory overload are equally interesting, the limericks are cute, and I really liked the back collaged cover – show Tyler’s wry sense of humor.

Snippet:

“sometimes you have to take highways and byways to get to noisecamp, record stores, and nerd stores tobuy cheap 15 for $5 comic books, sometimes it rains and its hard to drive at 5am when all the car can do is hydroplane because you are so tired and the tires are bald.”

One Dollar



_______________________________________

Now Available:

Soixante Neuf #1, Soixante Neuf #2

Diamond in the Rough #6

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed

Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com

www.carolineatigeress.com

Friday, December 8th, 2006
6:48 am
[nwzw]
Boxcutter Number 14 / Fall 2006
Boxcutter Number 14 / Fall 2006


As usual, Boxcutter doesn’t fail. This small sized zine with it’s lavender color grabs you hard and doesn’t let go. Tomas’s writings, especially the first piece, dealing with his own feelings about entering a third world country, and how it’s important that he understand he’s detoxing from America to a slower, more mellow pace of life. Fatima Luna Y Saskia Ledezma’s article regarding life in Chiapas is fantastic, with several sharp photos to support the story. I was very touched by the way she paints faith with words when she goes to the temples and waterfalls. Dylan’s poetry / essay, “insomniac” is nothing short of incredible, and is followed up by a very frank discussion about talking to your partner regarding intimacy. I could go on and on about this fantastic little zine, but I’d rather you read it for yourself.

Snippet:

“It really does come down to money doesn’t it? I mean, you can try to stick to your guns but in the end, it’ll come back to haunt you for ever believing you could live on your talents for long (meaning w/out proper contacts, exposure, a ‘name’ that carries upon the winds, a solid gold résumé, and experience in the specific area that you wish to pursue.)

A buck and worth a whole heck of a lot more.



_______________________________________

Now Available:

Soixante Neuf #1, Soixante Neuf #2

Diamond in the Rough #6

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed

Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com

www.carolineatigeress.com

Thursday, December 7th, 2006
3:28 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - Jelly Cake Vol 1 No 3
Zine Review - Jelly Cake Vol 1 No 3


“The Atomically Charged Strudel Issue”

Benjamin Castle’s witty perzine, Jelly Cake gets a visit from the Jelly Cake Alternate Universe. His wry observations about life being by being introspective about his own behavior, getting a job, being bored, store transactions and a motorcycle theft make for an entertaining read. The internal dialogue he has reguarding his own desires to be a sith master versus the morality of the Jedi made me chuckle. Of course, running into a pole while watching a sexy biker is pretty darned funny too.

Snippet:

“The disrespect that I am receiving will not be tolerated! A creature as fine as she, clearly was given birth to wed me! Face your doom you wicked fool! Cursed is you this day, for you will die!”




_______________________________________

Now Available:

Soixante Neuf #1, Soixante Neuf #2

Diamond in the Rough #6

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked

www.northwestzineworks.com

www.carolineatigeress.com

[ << Previous 20 -- Next 20 >> ]
zine scene   About LiveJournal.com