?

Log in

No account? Create an account
underground publication reviews' Journal
 
[Most Recent Entries] [Calendar View] [Friends]

Below are the 20 most recent journal entries recorded in underground publication reviews' LiveJournal:

[ << Previous 20 ]
Tuesday, March 24th, 2009
9:32 pm
[riotgrrrrl]
issue 12 of she's so very... now available!

issue number twelve.
$1.00 ppd by mail
$1.35 by paypal
1.8 ounces
34 half sized pages.
text and photographs.
photograph on cover found in an antique shop outside of Athens, Georgia.
summer/fall/winter (june - december) 2008.
Every issue of "she's so very..." deals with my life and often follows along in a diary like format. I continue in issue 12 with recurrent themes of sexuality, relationships, pregnancy fear and body image. I also write about the release of an LP, the death of JERK ALERT and our last tour; trying new things and planning for the future; building strong friendships and letting go of crappy friends; and of course my many celebrity and pop culture obsessions, including my discovery of Twilight, seeing the Toadies and Margaret Cho in the same weekend. I've also included an interview I did with Le Tigre back in 2000!
pay via paypal
for $1.35
contact me directly for pricing details if you're ordering from outside the USA.
http://www.myspace.com/shes_so_very
Saturday, December 20th, 2008
12:37 am
[angstypenguin]
Know any queer rural zines? x-post (if this doesn't belong/breaks rules, sorry; tell me&I'll delete)
Sorry if this doesn't belong here, but my friend Jenna (a.k.a. trashcan_chica) needs some help:

"does anyone know of any queer zines about living in rural areas or going to rural areas?

any help/pointing in the right direction would be amazing. i went through the whole Queer Zine Archive and couldn't really find anything.

thanks!
jenna b

p.s. i just got a wordpress site, sassyfrasscircus.com!"


Her (AIM) away message also says: "is looking for zines about/by members of radical queer ANTI-URBAN communities, so if you know of any..."

So please comment if you can help at all; thanks. :]

-Beth

Current Mood: hopeful
Sunday, September 28th, 2008
10:13 pm
[mephistopheles1]
Come to Philly Zine Fest 2008!!


More info at phillyzinefest.com
Friend us on Myspace!

P.S. Late sign-ups are okay! There are still a few tables left!
Sunday, July 13th, 2008
9:19 pm
[danmazur]

Please come to the Boston Zine Fair -- now at a new location in Kenmore Square *across from Fenway Park* and sponsored by Papercut Zine Library, Black Ocean and Art Institute of Boston. It's coming up in September, and tables are 8.50 half, $17 full. CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE AND TO REGISTER.
4:50 pm
[riotgrrrrl]
she's so very... issue 11


issue number eleven. 2.0 oz $3.00
38 half sized pages.
text with full color cover designed by Meghan Weinstein.
winter/spring (january - may) 2008.
I hope to make 2008 a year full of new experiences! This issue documents my first trip to California and other new and exciting things I'm trying to accomplish, details of my booking a show with The Old Haunts (featuring Tobi Vail from Bikini Kill), being interviewed for Hannah Neurotica's Zine Core radio show, JERK ALERT! recording our first "real" album and my continued attempts at dealing with sexuality, relationships and life. It also includes an interview with actress/musician Krysten Ritter (from Veronica Mars and Gilmore Girls) and my friends answer my two favorite music questions! It's a great issue and features a full color cover, which is another first!

you can purchase it via snail mail for $3, or via paypal for $3.50 - i'm sorry, but i can't accept trades at this time : ( but if you are desperate for a zine and can't afford the price, please contact me and we'll try to work it out! xoxoxoxoxo







for $3.50
Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
8:50 pm
[riotgrrrrl]
she's so very... zine
"she's so very..." issue number ten AVAILABLE NOW!



issue number ten.
$1.00 ppd by mail
$1.35 by paypal
(within the USA only - contact me for additional shipping details otherwise)
1.5 ounces
30 half sized pages.
text only.
photograph on cover found in an antique shop outside of Athens, Georgia.
fall/winter (august - december) 2007.

"She's so very..." has always been about my journey through life, issue number ten continues that journey. I write about power struggles, relationships, abortion, anxiety, sexuality, pornography, self doubt, how feminism relates to my favorite television shows and movies, my attempt at becoming Stuart Murdoch's next singing star and much more.








$1.35 paypal
IF YOU ARE ORDERING FROM OUTSIDE THE USA PLEASE CONTACT ME FIRST FOR EXTRA SHIPPING COST DETAILS!

visit the "she's so very..." zine myspace profile or my website for more details.

Current Mood: accomplished
Monday, September 24th, 2007
11:21 pm
[riotgrrrrl]
ISSUE NUMBER NINE of "she's so very..." AVAILABLE NOW!
issue number nine. $1.00

26 half sized pages. text with comics by sassafrassy.

spring/summer (april - august) 2007

JERK ALERT! goes on their first tour of the south and meets fred schnieder! melissa ann falls in love, and it's for real this time! this issue deals a lot with relationships of all sorts (soul-mate grrrl friends moving far far away; moving in with love-of-life), getting older, body image, pornography and fears and hopes for the future, as well as some current pop culture favorites.

I ACCEPT WELL CONCEALED CASH AND PAYPAL (for an additional fee).
contact me for details!

issue number nine will also eventually be available at boxcar books in bloomington.
Thursday, July 12th, 2007
4:45 pm
[quazipseudo]
Art Humor and Hate #85

 


Art Humor and Hate #85
19 Pages, 8.5 x 11, side stapled
$ ?

I didn’t care for this, but to be fair, poetry tends to be lost on me. The poems start right on the cover; you be the judge.

Lima_bean_puree@email.com

Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007
11:29 pm
[quazipseudo]
Underworld Crawl #5

Underworld Crawl #5

Underworld Crawl #5
40 Pages, Pocket Size
$1


This is a nicely produced little zine. This issue is all about contempt for work, bosses, and co-workers. It begins with observations on the absurdity of motivational campaigns and corporate job-love rhetoric, and I find it somewhat pathetic, despite the obvious ability of R. Lee to write. Just as I am thinking this is going to be one long ice pick in the eye, he grinds it into gear recounting stories of the workplace and the thing lurches forward. There is nothing particularly pleasant or enlightening for the remainder of the ride, but to the extent he sticks to storytelling and steers away from propagating, it ends up being a very readable series of glimpses into this slice of his life.


R. Lee
PO Box 1421
Oshkosh WI 54903

Posted by Syndicated Zine Reviews at 9:24 PM

11:07 pm
[quazipseudo]
Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet #20
Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet #20
June 2007; the 20 of Robots tarot card issue
60 Pages, Half Legal
$5


Fast becoming one of my favorite rags. Bite sized morsels of speculative fiction. Zine on the outside, literary journal inside. There are parts I don’t love and skip over, but the parts I love make the whole thing worthwhile. Sometimes creepy, sometimes dreamy. Favorite bits by Karen Joy Fowler and Steve Bratman. Well worth the price. Submissions send SASE for guidelines.


Small Beer Press
176 Prospect Ave
Northhampthon MA 01060
info@lcrw.net
lcrw.net

Zine Reviews

Please post reviews of zines as you read them by emailing them to zinereviews@yahoogroups.com
Thursday, June 28th, 2007
7:47 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - The Lab Int'L No. 12
Zine Review - The Lab Int'L No. 12


Number 12 begins with “Grrls are Gonna Riot!” and keeps that powerful mentality rooted in your brain as we dive deep in the Riot Grrrl Blogs, Music Grrl contact info and then a heaping helping of reviews, Interview with Apocalypse, For Years Blue, God Fearing Nation & If you’re lucky. Damn good writing, and defiantly a positive force in the music zine community.
Contact The Lab directly at:

The Lab International

POB 934

Republic, Wa 99166

Myspace.com/thelabzine

____________________________________________________________

Other things you might find of interest:

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

My Online Etsy Store, with Zines and other handcrafted items

Monday, June 11th, 2007
4:57 pm
[quazipseudo]
Welcome to Flavor Country #10

Welcome to Flavor Country
#10
40 Pages, Digest
$1 or some stamps

This is a thick perzine with commentary, fiction, poetry, art, and some reprinted stuff about the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW.) Much of this issue revolves around work related issues. Kurt talks about his job as an environmentalist, and his personal journey into corporate America, while trying to hold onto his punk and anarchist roots and values. Kurt’s strong suit is his first person narration. His writing about his thoughts and feelings is intelligent, concise, sensitive, and honest. I both agreed and disagreed with parts, but I felt throughout that this was someone I could sit down and have a worthwhile conversation with. In comparison the fiction isn’t bad but not near as seamless. While the writing shows promise, here he is reaching to find expression, whereas his first person writing is already spot on.

Kurt Morris
8820 Stone Ave. N. #301
Seattle, WA 98103

welcometoflavorcountry@gmail.com




Zine Reviews
Friday, June 1st, 2007
9:21 pm
[chloehodson]
i have a new zine coming out, electricity #6. and i want to try to sell as many copies as i can, so im going to be sending a bunch of copies to distros. so if you are a distro or know of a good one, i would love if you could post their address or a way to contact them.

And I will be posting shortly with my new zine and how you can get a copy! Be excited:D

Thank you much,
Chloe hodson

www.myspace.com/chloehodsonpublishing

or if you want to review my zine?
Thursday, May 24th, 2007
5:43 pm
[quazipseudo]
Journalsong #6:

Journalsong #6:

96 Pages Pocket Size

$2

 

A perzine from Steve in Portland. Steve is articulate and somewhat insightful, but not all that interesting. The writing is morose and self indulgent, with little compensation to the reader. Quit drinking. Start drinking. Letter from ex-girlfriend. On the road. Gigs. Nice drawings, cool translucent cover. “You know where all the commas and semi-colons go. You don’t have to rely on spell-check all the time. Run-on sentences have been split up into bite-size twos and threes. You’ve got a crystal clear thesis, a chunky ass body, and a conclusion like a judge’s gavel. But somehow there isn’t as much to be said, now that you know how to say it so nicely.” That’s as good as it gets.

 

Microcosm Publishing

222 S Rogers ST

Bloomington IN 47404

www.microcosmpublishing.com

or contact Steve directly @

journalsong@hotmail.com

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/zinereviews/

Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
11:34 am
[quazipseudo]
Anchorage Anarchy #9
Anchorage Anarchy #9
12 Page, Half Legal
$1

The title says it all. This is a serious and humorless rant zine that attacks all government without prejudice of party affiliation. Overall, it is well written and packaged. While a chunk of it is nothing new or different, there's a decent three page rant on the incestuous and insane relationship between religion and government, despite our alleged intent to separate them. Otherwise, this is likely of interest primarily to those already invested in the anarchist point of view.

Joe Peacott
Bad Press
PO Box 230332
Anchorage AK 99523-0332
bbrigade@world. std.com
world.std.com/ ~bbrigade


Zine Reviews
Thursday, May 10th, 2007
6:41 pm
[quazipseudo]
Christian*New Age Quarterly
Christian*New Age Quarterly A Bridge Supporting Dialog
24 Pages, Chapbook, $3.50 US, $5.00 Elsewhere

The lead piece is on demystifying Carlos Castaneda by a former would-be apprentice turned research scientist; Robert Arias. The rest of the writing is predictably gooey, but not altogether bad. Book, magazine, and drama reviews. All in all it's a noble effort and the subject matter is true to the title. Nice, crisp editing, no wasted space, and I liked that the lead story started right on the cover. (They're looking for a volunteer asst editor.)

Christian*New Age Quarterly
PO Box 276
Clifton NJ 07015-0276
info@...
www.christiannewage.com
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jack reviews for
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/zinereviews/
http://www.undergroundpress.org/index.html
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
7:32 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - The Lab International No 11
Zine Review - The Lab International No 11

A revision of a revision of a revision, Doodle Z shows that sloppy editing has no place, and is continually trying to refine the work so that a clean professional product is what we see, and does an excellent job of it. The Lab, as usual, is packed with articles running the gaumet from “WTF is Gong on Over there? to the Standwood Metal bash. While the Lab’s focus is mostly on music there’s some awesome poetry and lots of band connections to get you through the night. Contact The Lab Directly at:

The Lab International

POB 934

Republic, Wa 99166

Myspace.com/thelabzine

____________________________________________________________

Other things you might find of interest:

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

My Online Etsy Store, with Zines and other handcrafted items

Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
9:59 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - The GraveYard Youth No 2
Zine Review - The GraveYard Youth No 2




Dolly Dead’s Grave Yard Youth #2 is a heavily collaged feast for the eyes and feelings, with heavy emphasis on the use/abuse of women in our culture, with interspersions of feelings and drunken aspects and perceptions. Pieces about feelings, how hollywood’s perceptions of the perfect woman influence our actions as people, and dark powerful poetry abound in this very cool piece of writing. Two bucks and defiantly not for the feint of heart.

Snippet:

“A study looking at the prevalence of sexual assault among women between 18 and 30 found that 38% had experienced victimization and almost 50% of that group had been raped, cliamns the Research Institute on Addictions at the University at Buffalo (NY) – from USA today, on findarticles.com Too many GRRLS are RAPED. Too many of my FRIENDS are hurt. NUMBERS are too MUCH.”

LinkieLinkie

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
7:23 pm
[riotgrrrrl]
issue number eight of "she's so very..." available now! (x-posted)


issue number eight. $1.00
30 half sized pages. text and photographs.
fall (august - november) 2006.
i write about my roadtrip to athens, georgia in august of 2006. i also write about the end of a relationship, and the beginning of a new one... becoming the singer for JERK ALERT!
Thursday, February 15th, 2007
9:29 am
[nwzw]
Zine Review - University
Zine Review - University




Elizabeth Rabbit’s step from her familiar home in England to the University in Edinburgh is fraught with insecurity, doubt and curiosity. She takes all of these things on, and gives us a very, very personal zine that details her first year. From getting settled to her new flat to making new friends and foes, Elizabeth’s writing is clear and very interesting. Filled with interesting things from the local establishments with too-high-priced drinks to a very interesting piece about Trainspotting, this thick zine clearly documents 9 months in a person’s life, and is very fulfilling reading. Two bucks and worth every dime.

Snippet:

Lying motionless on the art college’s grassy courtyard with Donna’s head on my legs, I couldn’t help laughing and wondering why I was ever seriously considering moving back home. I’d never had this much fun in my life. The night air was forcing my brain back into working order, but for some reason everything seemed to be bone-shakinglyu hilarious, or so Donna thought and I couldn’t help but agree.

_______________________________________

Other Goodies you just might like:

Soixante Neuf No 1, No 2

Diamond in the Rough No 6, No 7

Get Reviewed / Get Distroed / Get Linked / Advertise at the Zine Works

www.northwestzineworks.com / www.carolineatigeress.com / www.indymediareviews.com

Photocopied Hearts, a Zine Community Forum / BookCrossing

Myspace / LJ / Xanga / WritersCafe / DeviantArt

[ << Previous 20 ]
zine scene   About LiveJournal.com